Lady of Guadalupe Drawing Meditation, an Act of Self Compassion

imageI am home recovering from a back injury and have turned to a drawing meditation as a way of staying grounded and positive. It is easy to complain when one is in pain or physical discomfort and I decided to focus on an image that represents a moment in time when I felt abundantly filled with love – my wedding day. I did a tentative sketch and then went at it with colored pencils. I have been working on this for the past two weeks in small increments of time as my body allows. I must note that the color palette and some of the symbolism is directly referenced from an original ornament by artist Kate Cartwright. *

This portrait is still in process, but near completion so I thought I’d share. The other inspiration for this idea of self portraiture contemplative drawing came from a friend and fellow art therapy cohort, Linda, who has a very cool directive involving trying on different labels for self descriptors as a way to promote self compassion. This portrait represents my efforts to exchange the label of “in pain and cranky” to ” radiating love and compassion for myself and others.” As I said , it is , and I am, a work in progress.

*you may view Kate’s beautiful art at http://www.katecartwrightart.com

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

About reneetamara

Writing about death, mental illness, spirituality, art and perfume. Because beauty feeds the soul, and love is beyond what we think.

8 responses to “Lady of Guadalupe Drawing Meditation, an Act of Self Compassion”

  1. YAPCaB says :

    Hope you feel better soon. Back injuries are so debilitating. Love your latest piece of art!

  2. reneetamara says :

    Thank you my friend, your comments always give me a lift 🙂

  3. Undina says :

    I sympathize a lot! Please be extra careful: back injuries are tough, it takes a LOT of time to get over them.

    • reneetamara says :

      Thank you Undina. I’m realizing that too, bit by bit. It’s been a slow recovery process. What scents would you recommend? I have been in a bit of Mona di Orio Oud for it’s soft contemplative mood as well as Rose Etoile de Hollande because it transports me to the salty beach air and relieves the claustrophobia of limited movement.

      • Undina says :

        I have a strange recommendation: try avoiding all-time favorites when you’re not feeling good or you might end-up associating them with pain and misery. Choose something that you like but won’t be extremely upset if you’ll never wear it again. Decants of perfumes that you don’t think you’ll buy in future are good candidates.

  4. reneetamara says :

    Undina, that is an excellent recommendation, I hadn’t thought of it from that perspective…great idea, thank you!

  5. progressofpenelope says :

    “…radiating love and compassion for myself and others.” What a great meditative art process. And, I hope it is ok that I comment on the art, dear
    OSP buddy–it is very exciting, gorgeous. I really enjoy and appreciate your interpretations in visual art.

    • reneetamara says :

      Thank you Penelope, I relish your comments, and love making art with you, whether it be alongside one another’s process, in collaboration or even remotely.

Leave a Reply

