When I make art, I am a better person

swan1Today the thought came to me that I am a better person when I make art. What makes me better? When I put my hands on material to play, explore, create something, I enter a zone of permission, a micro country of unconditional positive self regard. I learn that there is no wrong mark, no bad color, no mistake in what my hands squeeze out, or in which color I choose.

swan2I learn to go with the flow in a relaxed way without pressure for the outcome. These are experiences that are a luxury in other parts of my day where I need to meet  a deadline, complete a project, facilitate a meeting or complete a report.

swan3Is my result childish? Unfinished? Hand wrought or even awkward. Sure, it may be, but when I think of all the years, the hours, the time I spent NOT making art, I truly am just a beginner, a child at play exploring something important. If it looks unfinished, I’m relaxed with that. I don’t want to be finished yet. It feels like love and I want it to keep on going on…and feeling this way makes me want to be extra kind to the people around me. If it looks like love, if it feels like love, well, it must be love. World peace through making art.

swan4Images: Swan sculpture in progress fashioned of aluminum foil, masking tape, electric tape, embroidery thread, gouache paint

 

Tags: , , , , ,

About reneetamara

Writing about death, mental illness, spirituality, art and perfume. Because beauty feeds the soul, and love is beyond what we think.

Leave a Reply

