What I See: High Line Park NYC

IMG_3154Craving some vitamin D, hubby and I headed into Manhattan this morning to take a stroll along the walkways of High Line Park in Chelsea. It was the first time there for both of us, and we truly enjoyed the views of the city from the vantage point of two and three stories above street level. IMG_3161Built on an elevated, historic freight rail line, visitors are presented with a variety of colors, textures offered by the architecture, the landscaping and by works of public art like the ones pictured above and below …IMG_3163 …as well as grafitti in the neighborhoods below that can be viewed from the park. IMG_3169The garden atmosphere featured decorative grasses, wildflowers and benches that rose up from the elements of stone, steel and wood, flanked with honeysuckle and greenery.IMG_3157

IMG_3156

IMG_3179After stopping for lunch, we popped into Aedes de Venustas on Christopher street where my husband graciously allowed me to spritz him with Alexsandr on one arm and L’Etroq on the other. Both by Arquiste, both quite good!  Please read reviews of each by The Non Blonde . The woman who assisted me at Aedes was lovely – she gave me some Frederic Malle and Arquiste samples to take along. Meanwhile, I’m putting together impressions of Mona di Orio’s Oud for another post and thought I’d share the beautiful September Sunday Sunshine with you all… Wishing you a most refreshing and sublime Sunday. IMG_3190My apologies to the artists who work is pictured in my photos…as I come to identify them I shall add credits to this post. I was too caught up in the sights and the stroll to stop and read any placards along the way!

Tags: , , , ,

About reneetamara

Writing about death, mental illness, spirituality, art and perfume. Because beauty feeds the soul, and love is beyond what we think.

2 responses to “What I See: High Line Park NYC”

  1. Undina says :

    I’m not sure credits are due when a piece of art is a part of the picture taken on the street.
    Anyway, thank you for sharing. I want to visit NY again.

    • reneetamara says :

      I see your point, since I’m married to a professional artist, I am particularly sensitive to image credits. Nonetheless, I have yet to do my homework and assign names to the works!

Leave a Reply

