Of Two Minds, a film about sisters

IMG_1414Tonight I stopped by the local Mental Health Association as they were screening a film called “Of Two Minds,” a look at mental illness from a sibling’s perspective. I was pretty blown away by the intensity of this film, by its raw pain, as it communicated the love between sisters, one well, one suffering from schizophrenia, the guilt, the unpredictability of the disease and all the rest. I did not expect to end my Wednesday evening weeping over my sister. But as I said to the evening’s facilitator, “better out than in.” Grief has so many layers. The loss of a loved one with mental illness is so complex, the loss began decades ago, and death, which seems so final, serves to open up layers of grief long forgotten.

Better out than in.

I highly recommend this film, though it is hard to watch,  to anyone with a family, friend or loved one suffering from schizophrenia. Or if you love someone who has a family member with mental illness, this may give you insight into how hard the path can be.

Tomorrow I will write about perfume. Tonight I gently mourn my sister, Deborah and further forgive myself for all the ways I could not be there for her, by remembering the moments that we did have together.

Image: portrait of my sister, 1978, acrylic on canvas

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About reneetamara

Writing about death, mental illness, spirituality, art and perfume. Because beauty feeds the soul, and love is beyond what we think.

5 responses to “Of Two Minds, a film about sisters”

  1. Undina says :

    Better out than in!
    Take care of yourself.

  2. Moze Pray says :

    Hard to watch, but i did see this film about a year ago. It was a good film i thought. I see you did this portait? This is quite interesting.

    • reneetamara says :

      Thanks, Moze Pray. I had not heard of this film until last night. Wish more people could see it. Glad you like the portrait…
      I took a look at your blog and will look forward to reading more about your experiences.

      Do you enjoy making art?

      • Moze Pray says :

        Yes i do! I have painted some. Some simple-ish things. I like them. I will post them soon one day maybe in a next post soon.Sometimes I draw.

Leave a Reply

