Monkey Mind Mandala

mMonkey riding a tortoise. Mandala in progress. Images from dreams during the period just before Dad passed away. He kept seeing visions of his own father whenever he closed his eyes. We spoke about this and so many other things during the three intensive months as he lay dying. tuOur conversations may have prompted my own dreams of my Chinese grandfather during that period. This mandala represents elements from those dreams. Both the dream and the mandala make me smile and I thought I’d share the in progress drawings.mmAs with all my mandala drawings, the process is meditative, calming, soothing and freeing all at once. On a whimsical level, this image makes me think of my dad, born in the Chinese year of the monkey, riding on the tortoise’s back, on a journey to the next mode of existence. Hey, it’s my dream, I can analyze it however I wish.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About reneetamara

Writing about death, mental illness, spirituality, art and perfume. Because beauty feeds the soul, and love is beyond what we think.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Elephant Rider | Dad's American Beauty - May 18, 2014

Leave a Reply

