Old Book Shop Finds

IMG_2454

My daughter and I visited a quaint second hand bookstore yesterday in Madison, New Jersey. I found a few nostalgic gems that had to come home with us.

“Love is a Special Way of Feeling,” by Joan Walsh Anglund, published in 1960, as nestled in a small basket at the back of the shop. Several of Anglund’s books were always at hand when I was a very young child and the images conjure up feelings of safety, security and innocence. IMG_2456
I still have mine from that time. This volume will be an engagement present for a colleague and I hope the tender message will bring some sweet wishes along with it. IMG_2459

The other pair of prizes were Andrew Lang’s Red and Blue Fairy Books. IMG_2460Nice chunky old things to hold in your hand. Beautiful colored plates illustrating the Twelve Dancing Princesses and the Goose Girl, Jack in the Beanstalk, Beauty and the Beast and Cinderella.IMG_2462 I never did own these, but I have precise memories of visiting the public library and carrying them home with me. IMG_2461There is nothing like the feel, weight, texture and scent of a book with history to help you to slow down a bit, focus your attention in a way that a laptop or PC could never accomplish.

Do these books look familiar to you? Do you have any favorite used bookstore finds you’d like to share?

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About reneetamara

Writing about death, mental illness, spirituality, art and perfume. Because beauty feeds the soul, and love is beyond what we think.

One response to “Old Book Shop Finds”

  1. marga t. says :

    These illustrations are so familiar! I also spent much time with my A.A. Milne, “When We Were Very Young”…

    thanks for sharing the finds and the memories.

Leave a Reply

