Why I love Country Music: Orphan Girl

It’s Sunday. Palm Sunday for those who observe the holiday. Easter is coming. Mom died last year on Holy Saturday. Her mother before her died on Good Friday. Both were 86 years old when they passed. I’m also coming up on the nine month anniversary of Dad’s death. The four month anniversary of my sister, Deborah’s death. And my pet rabbit Hot Fudge Gee Willikers died a month ago this coming Tuesday. Enough already! So indulge me. Please.

Once in a while you come across a country song that just digs down and lets you whine out all your troubles, the pathos is saturating, the self pity almost alarming, or it would be if it didn’t feel so damn good. This song, Orphan Girl by Gillian Welch, well, I heard it by accident and latched on tight, it felt so pitifully right. Gillian’s version is slow and wailing and oh so good, but I found this one, by Scenic Roots, faster paced, lilting and just as tender. Here are the lyrics:

I am an orphan on God’s highway
But I’ll share my troubles if you go my wayI have no mother, no father
No sister, no brother
I am an orphan girlI have had friendships pure and golden
The ties of kinship have not known them

I know no mother, no father
No sister, no brother
I am an orphan girl

But when He calls me I will be able
To meet my family at God’s table

I’ll meet my mother, my father
My sister, my brother
No more an orphan girl

Blessed Savior make me willing
Walk beside me until I’m with them

Be my mother, my father
My sister, my brother
I am an orphan girl
I am an orphan girl

Can you stand it? I can. I can belt out that chorus when I need to, I swear. My husband hates this song now, and me kids are none too fond of it either. But it made my daughter laugh when I played it for her. She totally got it.
Please share your favorite songs to have a good cry to. I’d love to hear them. Wishing you a good cry right when you need it, right when it will do your soul some good. Oh, and here is Emmy Lou Harris’ version. I see myself belting it out in her leather pants and black nail polish. That would do it for me!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About reneetamara

Writing about death, mental illness, spirituality, art and perfume. Because beauty feeds the soul, and love is beyond what we think.

2 responses to “Why I love Country Music: Orphan Girl”

  1. bitesizelove says :

    i made some videos for the memorial services for my aunt and grama. the song for my aunt was stevie nicks “i miss you” and for grama it was the beatles “in my life.” i still cry nearly every time. someday i may post the videos. not ready yet. i had never heard “orphan girl,” those lyrics are amazing. i see why it is so meaningful for you!

    • reneetamara says :

      oh boy. Mom’s song at her service was “The Very Thought of You, ” by Billie Holiday, we did not sing at Dad’s, but read Corinthian’s 13, and for my Sis it was Wild Horses by the Rolling Stones.
      I love Stevie Nicks. I love the Beatles too. Thanks for sharing your beautiful song choices.

Leave a Reply

