Intermission: Mom’s Vintage Chrysanthemum Necklace

c1I’ve been missing Mom today, thinking about her vivacity during her healthy times. The piece of vintage costume jewelry I have been wearing most is this die cut chrysanthemum pendant. Chrysanthemums are lovely traditional Chinese flowers and this stylized interpretation has the feel of an amulet. c2Although made of base metal, I appreciate the detail and quality of workmanship that went into this and so many of the older costume jewelry pieces I have seen. An artisan jeweler looked at this pendant recently and was describing how die cut jewelry is fashioned with strong force to cut the metal into the desired form. Now when I wear it I think of the physical power that went into its creation. c3It’s often the small details in the everyday items that you touch, wear and use which add an extra dimension of beauty to the mundane, and in this case, reminds me of the enduring compassionate spirit of my mother, keeping that feeling close at hand.photoHere is a somewhat blurred photo which gives you an idea of the scale of this piece when worn. The pewter gray provides neutrality with a shimmer and the circular, organic lines exude a feeling of balance and serenity. Thanks, Mom.IMG_1522

Tags: , , ,

About reneetamara

Writing about death, mental illness, spirituality, art and perfume. Because beauty feeds the soul, and love is beyond what we think.

5 responses to “Intermission: Mom’s Vintage Chrysanthemum Necklace”

  1. Garce says :

    It’s a beautiful and elegantly simple piece of jewelry. It’s what shaman’s would call “an object of power”. Have you ever thought of keeping a Personal Museum in your house for things like this?

    Garce

    • reneetamara says :

      I like that : “an object of power.” It definitely connects me to the best of “mom” energy, at least in my imagination. And some say that imagination is the most important human faculty at our disposal.

      Hmmm…. personal museum? I have a scent cabinet with perfumes and decants, since that is my most consciously orchestrated collection of items, next to my books. We need more shelves!

  2. Undina says :

    What a beautiful necklace! It’s nice that you have that heirloom piece in your family. I hope it brings you joy.

    • reneetamara says :

      Thank you, Undina, I have been finding myself wearing it nearly every day lately, and it has become a very familiar, comforting personal item. It always, of course, complements my scent of the day 🙂 (which, as of late, has been, Anima Dulcis by Arquiste)

Leave a comment