Winter Retreat, 2013, Noble Deeds and Hot Baths

IMG_1819I am sorry to say the only noble deed I might lay claim to on our first morning in Taos was to draw the hot water for a bath and to serve hubby a cup of hot coffee as he soaked. I am quite delighted to say that I did enjoy a hot bath of my own first!

“Noble deeds and hot baths are the best cures for depression.” Cassandra Mortmain in  I Capture the Castle written by Dodie Smith.

Who would think that the aroma of bacon wafting up the wooden staircase into our room on a cold winter morning could be so spiritual. Am I mixing up my animal pleasures with heavenly bliss? In Taos it all felt one in the same. Sitting in the sun soaked bath with painted windows on all three sides – the mountain light streaming in – the antique claw footed tub filled with piping hot water – I soaked, reveling in the glorious heat and steam, healing water and sunshine.

IMG_1821Next I dressed and stepped out onto the sleeping porch, adjacent to our room. My body felt energized, heated from the interior, oblivious to the below freezing temperatures that belied the beaming sun. Blood coursed through my veins, pumping oxygen to every organ – what a sheer delightful moment in time. IMG_1765Exterior view of bathing room from sun porch. Windows painted by D.H. Lawrence.IMG_1774View of the wonderful sleeping porch, accessed from Tony’s Room at the Mabel Dodge Luhan House where I got my early morning oxygen fix daily. 

After a home cooked breakfast that was an embarrassment of riches, we planned a stroll through Taos plaza followed by a visit to the Taos Pueblo. IMG_1768IMG_1815IMG_1770From the first rays of sun on that first morning in Taos, the trip became all about the earth, the air, the fire, the water, the mountains, the sky, the elements themselves which I perceived as living entities that vitally shaped our experience in an unforgettable manner. On the flight home, I read this from Chapter Three of Edge of Taos Desert, an escape to reality, by Mabel Dodge Luhan and found a deep affirmation of my first impressions:

“From the very first day I found out that the sunshine in New Mexico could do almost anything with one: make one well if one felt ill, or change a dark mood and lighten it. It entered into one’s deepest places and melted the thick, slow densities. It made one feel good. That is, alive. ”

all images are interior and exterior views of the Mabel Dodge Luhan House taken with my IPhone5 camera and the glorious natural New Mexican sunlight.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About reneetamara

Writing about death, mental illness, spirituality, art and perfume. Because beauty feeds the soul, and love is beyond what we think.

Leave a Reply

