Intermission: Mom’s Vintage Hat # 6 visits Taos, New Mexico

IMG_1867Photo taken at Taos Pueblo, these buildings are believed to be over 1,000 years old.

Even though there is no place like home, after a milestone year of losses, it seemed time for a restorative winter retreat. Since first learning about Georgia O’Keeefe and how she found a “spiritual home” in northern New Mexico, I have been very curious about the region. My heart told me “It’s time, go now.” So we went.

For you hat lovers,  here are some of mom’s vintage hat closeups of hand crocheted loops and faux pearls, crafted in the USA…
IMG_1556

IMG_1555 but this is really just a segue to let you know I will be posting a Winter Retreat series about our five day trip to Taos, where we stayed, what we saw and  how that has moved me further on the road of healing after loss. Which, I am beginning to realize, is simply a part of the road of being in life with an open heart. I will never be the same person that I was with Mom, Dad and Debbie on the earth with me, but now there is something new, a new layer built upon that foundation of those key relationships. IMG_1871San Geronimo church, built in 1850, Taos PuebloIMG_1872Happy Sunday.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About reneetamara

Writing about death, mental illness, spirituality, art and perfume. Because beauty feeds the soul, and love is beyond what we think.

2 responses to “Intermission: Mom’s Vintage Hat # 6 visits Taos, New Mexico”

  1. Elaine says :

    Looking forward to hearing more about your stay in Taos and seeing your photos. I have pictures of that same Pablo. I had a dream last night about New Mexico and Arizona and in the dream I was going to live there so I don’t think Vermont will be the final stop after all 🙂

Leave a Reply

