Eggs for Tea: Happy New Year 2013

1

a favorite passage from a favorite book

“I finish this entry sitting on the stairs. I think it worthy of note that I never felt happier in my life – despite sorrow for father, pity for Rose, embarrassment about Stephen’s poetry and no justification for hope as regards our family’s general outlook. Perhaps it is because I have satisfied my creative urge; or it may be due to the thought of eggs for tea.”

I Capture the Castle, Dodie Smith, last paragraph of Part 1, Chapter 1, page 11.

photo

The New Year slipped in like an easy birth, like a peaceful death. Last night I had some dear friends visiting, decided against paper plates, instead, unwrapped my mother’s old china, she loved pretty things. Started the New Year with breakfast on a tray, coffee, pink champagne and leftovers from last night’s feast all fancied up. Sometimes the simple things,  sipping from a china cup, serving breakfast on a tray, sitting in a hot bath and revisiting a favorite book, like “having eggs for tea” can be so cheering and really, just enough, truly perfect.

May you take the time for your creativity this year, feed your soul with beauty and  and time with loved ones, and have some eggs for tea, whatever that may be for you!3

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About reneetamara

Writing about death, mental illness, spirituality, art and perfume. Because beauty feeds the soul, and love is beyond what we think.

5 responses to “Eggs for Tea: Happy New Year 2013”

  1. Undina says :

    Happy New Year, Renee! I hope it will be peaceful for your family.

    I have similar champagne glasses (stems are the same but the part from where you drink is wider), we brought them with us many years ago to the US – just because those were one of the most valuable possessions we had back then. Now we have just two or three left from the set of six so we never get them out when we’re having guests. We save them for special occasions – just for two of us. And every time we use them we’re filled with warm feelings. 20 years ago those were our eggs for tea. Thank you.

    • reneetamara says :

      What a sweet story, Undina, I love hearing those memories. The crystal glasses are also from my parents. They were married 60 years and have those household mementos that were considered necessities when they set up house in the 1950’s. I treasure them and the china pattern – when I see it I flash back to good childhood times.

      May I ask from which country you hail?
      All the best to you in 2013 🙂

Leave a Reply

