Intermission: Mom’s Vintage Hats #2 & #3

photoTwo more hats to show you today. The first one is a cloche, sitting close to the head with a forward slanting movement towards the face. It is fashioned from straw, I believe, in intricate, swirling patterns that loop over the entire crown. I like the look of the light peeping through the netting when viewed from the interior. I will gain enjoyment from these hats even if I never wear them!

IMG_1500

IMG_1501Hat number three is a bowler style hat made of Peachbloom Velour according to the interior imprint. The base of the hat is chocolate brown with a pleasant smooth and fuzzy texture. The trim looks like a rose colored grosgrain ribbon with a pleated bow treatment and twirled straw embellishment. Made by Gene Doris from New York.

IMG_1503

IMG_1502

IMG_1504

When I look at these hats, it makes me wish for a second that my head were smaller so I could happily wear them. Having a gracefully appointed european nose to complement the design profiles wouldn’t hurt either. I imagine these are from the time Mom and Dad were just setting up household in New York City on Riverside Drive back in the fifties. I think these hats may be from that time and into the early sixties, though I cannot be certain.

Images by me of mom’s vintage hats, courtesy of the living room lamp.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About reneetamara

Writing about death, mental illness, spirituality, art and perfume. Because beauty feeds the soul, and love is beyond what we think.

Leave a Reply

