Intermission: 1967 Vintage Shalimar extrait

ImageI received this bottle of 1967 vintage Shalimar extrait for my fiftieth birthday. Opening it is like releasing a genie in the form of a luxuriously furred minx like animal, powdered in potent vanilla and carrying a stick of lit incense. Hands down, I have not sniffed any perfume, parfum, eau de parfum, eau de toilette during my six years of collecting that compares in longevity, quality, smoothness, dimension and sheer satisfaction, making me wonder about other fragrances produced during the sixties and earlier years. Please enjoy the photos from the morning I opened this bottle for the first time, there are about ten. My fellow fragonistas will understand that though this may seem excessive, it’s really not.Image

Image

ImageImage

Image

Image

Image

Image

ImageI was five years old when this bottle was produced and was never interested in Shalimar until my fourth decade of life. Mom wore Chantilly by Houbigant and Chanel no. 5. My sister and I stole drops of her Je Reviens now and then. I think Debbie liked Blue Grass back in the day.

Which bottle is the treasure of your collection? What fragrances did your mother and/or sister wear?

Included in images: miniature oil on paper : New New York # 41 by Tim Folzenlogen

Tags: , , , , ,

About reneetamara

Writing about death, mental illness, spirituality, art and perfume. Because beauty feeds the soul, and love is beyond what we think.

5 responses to “Intermission: 1967 Vintage Shalimar extrait”

  1. Undina says :

    What a beautiful bottle!

    There are no real treasures in my collection (yet?) but I really value a vintage bottle of Miss Dior that I bought mostly for the reason that my mother used to own a one very similar to that bottle. I enjoy wearing that parfum once in a while but I plan to stick to using EdT (modern or vintage – whatever I can get my hands on) because I do not want my treasure to be gone.

  2. Shalimar says :

    Shalimar is my signature scent and has been since I was in my late 20s. I fell in love with it at a major department store, possibly Macy’s, sometime in the late 80s, and purchased myself a parfum spray and a bottle of eau de toilette. All I wear is vintage Shalimar, the older the better. I treasure the out-and-out down and dirty sexiness of my oldest bottle, which dates from the late 20s and was less than half full when I acquired it. It is my favorite of all my bottles of Shalimar. I have a 2 1/2 oz. Baccarat bottle from the 50s or 60s, a Baccarat bottle of the same size from the 40s or earlier based on the stamp, a 1 oz. bottle of extrait from the same time period, a half-oz. bottle from the early 50s, a 1 oz. bottle from the late 40s or earlier, and my prize early bottle of Shalimar, which is reserved for special dates with my husband. That’s the one I wore to bed on my wedding night and every anniversary without fail.

    The one problem with loving a vintage scent is that as time wears on, it becomes much more difficult to obtain. I am now seeing bottles from the 70s priced at what I used to see bottles from the 40s going for, and fewer and fewer of the discernibly old ones on the market at all. But I too can now be considered vintage, I suppose, and we will all go into the sunset together. With the approximately six and a half to seven ounces of pure parfum I have and the 16 ounces of Shalimar eau de cologne, I think I am well set for the next several years, at least.

    • reneetamara says :

      Greetings, Shalimar, you are so right about the bittersweet aspect of loving a vintage scent, sort of a zen lesson in impermanence of all things, I suppose! I try to savor each drop all the more, it’s a balance between hoarding and restraint so as not to deplete your supply, and fully engaging in the beauty for the here and now – life is to be lived! Shalimar is to be worn!

      It sounds like you have a wonderful collection. I agree that the oldest in my collection, edt in a teardrop goutte bottle, likely from the fifties, (https://reneetamara.wordpress.com/2012/11/11/intermission-sunday-in-shalimar-edt/ )has the dirtiest, “take no prisoners” kind of character to it of unabashed sexy beauty. Gives one great appreciation for the elder generation and insight to our parents’ and grandparents’ aesthetic. Thank you for your thoughtful post.

Leave a Reply

