Intermission: a rose by any other name: Rose Etoile de Hollande

Image

One of my favorite rose scents starts with the sea. Rose, Etoile de Hollande by Mona di Orio will forever remind me of the ocean, it was my apres soleil scent for much of this past summer. Compared to other Mona di Orio scents I have tried, (Ambre and Vanille are  textured and rich, Musc, dense and soft) Etoile d’Hollande is softer, closer to the skin,  translucent and complex. Notes I read with my sniffer are honey, rose, salt, and clean musk – if I were to relate a taste sensation it would be kettle corn, both sweet and salty and light.

Not that this fragrance could ever be classified as junk food. Rather, it is a gourmet hors d’oeuvre, a case where the sum is greater than its parts. When I first sampled it, I was disappointed by its sheer quality, but it only took a few full wearings for Rose Etoile d’Hollande to win my affection, and she will ever be interlaced with the scent of cocoa butter, suntan lotion, salt, sand and spray.

notes listed from luckyscent: Bergamot, White Peach, Heliotrope, Bulgarian Rose, Turkish Rose, Geranium, Clove, Patchouli, Cedar, Vanilla, Bezoin, Ambre, Balsam

Read Olfactaria’s Travels’ moving review of this beautiful fragrance here.

And the lyrical review by Alena at Perfume Smellin Things here.

Tags: , ,

About reneetamara

Writing about death, mental illness, spirituality, art and perfume. Because beauty feeds the soul, and love is beyond what we think.

Leave a Reply

