Evening Star Jungian Mask

In one of my graduate studies art therapy classes, we made Jungian archetype themed masks out of burlap.  Working with the wet burlap over a newspaper and masking tape armature was a very tactile, flowing experience. Mine began as a star with the face of the wise old man emerging from its center. Reflecting upon it later, for me this was about internalizing the wisdom of my own “wise old man,” aka Dad.

Imagenewspaper and masking tape armature

Imagewet burlap applied and gessoed to prep for painting

Imageoil painted applied to trimmed mask

Imagebent branches and textile providing backdrop for evening star

This process helped me to begin preparing myself to face the mortality of my aging father, helping me meditate on how the hell would I integrate within my personhood all the things he shared with me, often by osmosis, throughout my life.

Tags: , , , ,

About reneetamara

Writing about death, mental illness, spirituality, art and perfume. Because beauty feeds the soul, and love is beyond what we think.

Leave a Reply

