Intermission: Le Labo’s Iris 39 massage and bath perfuming oil: a pagan’s delight

ImageAfter reading On Concerning the Spiritual in Art by Wassily Kandinsky, I happily entered a period of intense focus on charcoal and pastel with the sole desire to express my own internal images without relying on the immediacy of external references. The process kept me very much within the physicality of drawing: the movements, the gestures, applying hand to the paper, feeling the powder of the pastel beneath my fingertips, being in my body rather than my head. The experience was blissful and deeply satisfying.

On that note, I woke up this morning with Le Labo’s Iris 39 on my mind. I first encountered this fragrance as a body massage oil at the boutique store in NoLita under the attentive eye and intelligent nose of Isaac. He had a lot of wonderful information to share, I wasn’t listening. I was entirely distracted by the earthy, rooty goodness of Iris 39. This scent sinks you barefoot into the fertile ground but has a brightness that keeps you from getting too dirty. It’s elemental, paganesque and invites you to revel in your senses.

I appreciate a good massage oil and this one has a wonderful glide, absorbing quickly into the skin. For me, it does not leave an oily feeling behind when applied after the bath or shower. The fragrance is long lasting, creating a skin close atmosphere that is transportive throughout the day. I have taken to using it as a base layer beneath some of my iris loves, like Guerlain’s Iris Ganache and Le Labo’s eau de parfum version of the scent, which doesn’t tread as gently as the oil version. If the oil exudes a sweet, mildly earthy femininity, the edp is solidly unisex and to my nose has more of a green airy quality, lifting you away from the earth. The massage oil, according to the label includes jojoba seed oil, macadamia nut oil and sweet almond oil, and does not include parabens nor is it tested on animals.

My scent of the day: Le Labo Iris 39 beneath Guerlain’s Iris Ganache. Wishing you a magical Tuesday.

Image: In Reverence of Water, by me, charcoal, pastel and wax pencil on paper

Tags: , , , , ,

About reneetamara

Writing about death, mental illness, spirituality, art and perfume. Because beauty feeds the soul, and love is beyond what we think.

6 responses to “Intermission: Le Labo’s Iris 39 massage and bath perfuming oil: a pagan’s delight”

  1. Undina says :

    Iris 39 is one of my favorite perfumes but I didn’t even think/knew about the massage oil. I’m curious now. When I get to the store that carries Le Labo line I’ll check if they have it – it would be interesting to try. Thank you for the idea.

Leave a Reply

